Simaima Taufa named NRLW Captain of the Year

  • Simaima Taufa named NRLW Captain of the Year image
Hannah Donald

RoundABOUT Contributor

A special moment for our Raiders Women’s team, in their inaugural season, with the Green Machine’s Simaima Taufa named the NRLW Captain of the Year at the 2023 Dally M awards overnight.

The 29-year-old also taking out the award for best Lock, named in the NRLW Team of the Year.

While accepting the award, Taufa payed tribute to her co-captain Zahara Temara,

“This is both of ours. As a co-captain I share a lot of the burden, and a lot of the responsibilities with her.”

Taufa appearing to be in somewhat of a state of shock as her name was read out, amid a group of other ‘well deserved’ captains within the competition.

“To be able to lead such a great group of individuals that form that team, and to be able to represent an awesome club like the Canberra Raiders. I just want to say a massive thank you to them.”

The Newcastle Knights’ Kalyn Ponga, the star of the evening, claiming the NRL’s Dally M medal, while Newy’s Tamika Upton also won the NRLW’s top gong.

Listen to more of the latest news below: