Sport Australia Hall of Fame welcomes 7 new Aussies

  • Sport Australia Hall of Fame welcomes 7 new Aussies image
Hannah Donald

RoundABOUT Contributor

Some of our top athletes are joining an elite group, as they’re inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame.

This year welcomes Olympic gold medalists, a football star, a Paralympian, an NRL icon, and a coaching visionary. It’s a group of champions who have exceeded in their field, while maintaining integrity, pride, and courage.

This years’ inductees include:

Johnathan Thurston AM  – Rugby League

Timothy Cahill AO – Football

Kim Brennan AM – Rowing

Nova Peris OAM – Athletics & Hockey

Lydia Lassila OAM – Aerial Skiing

Kurt Fearnly AO – Para-Athletics

Tim McLaren OAM – Rowing Coach

Sport Hall of Fame Selection Committee Chair, Bruce McAvaney, says each inductee has been instrumental in providing this country with unforgettable moments.

“Diverse in their sporting prowess, each has excelled over a lifetime, paving the way for those who follow and stamping their own mark on history.”

The new additions will be honored at an official Sport Australia Hall of Fame event in Sydney, on October 16.

Listen to more of the latest new below: